national geographic travel photographer Susan Seubert’s Barbados Story

Greetings!  It is again, with great pleasure, that I am able to announce that the story I shot for National Geographic Traveler about Barbados is now on the newsstands. This is the second major assignment I’ve shot in the Caribbean for National Geographic Traveler. The last story was about Unique Hotels of the Caribbean.  This time, I traveled to Barbados in August of 2010 to shoot the ten day assignment and it was another glorious adventure, despite the oppressive heat and outbursts of torrential rain.  The writer, Charlie Kulander, was wonderful to work with and I enjoyed reading his story and did my best to capture the essence of his experience… and mine.  I am looking forward to the opportunity to travel back to the island nation to visit the many people who helped make this story so fantastic.  The printed version is not available online, so I encourage all of you to go out and pick up a copy of National Geographic Traveler’s January/February 2011 issue.  Or, if you have an iPad, you can purchase a subscription through Zinio.  That version features more photos than both the web site and the magazine.  The opening spread, of which I am quite proud, is pictured below.  I am including a link here to my favorite images from the shoot, some of which were also published in the both the print and electronic versions of the magazine.

 

opening spread for, "It's a Wonderful Life," story by Charles Kulander, photographs by yours truly. Click here to be taken to a gallery of some of my other favorite photos from the shoot.

This was my first all digital shoot for this magazine.  Everything was shot on Canon 5D Mark II cameras and processed in Adobe’s Lightroom software.

2 thoughts on “national geographic travel photographer Susan Seubert’s Barbados Story

  1. Hi!

    Great pic! My daughter is the girl on the far right and my son is the one with his eyes closed. They were so happy to see that this picture made it in the magazine!!

    Sincerely,

    Wendy Morgan

Leave a Reply

